Judicial Branch

Judicial Branch, The Department of Justice

Attorney General William Barr, formerly Jeff Sessions
Deputy Attorney General formerly Rod Rosenstein during the Mueller Investigation

History of the federal courts

The only court created by Article III of the United States Constitution was the Supreme Court of the United States. “Inferior courts,” per Article III, were created by the United States Congress, starting with the Judiciary Act of 1789. For an overview of how the structure and jurisdiction of the federal courts have changed since inception, see United States court reorganization legislation.

Types of federal courts

Federal Circuit Courts by District

Ninth Circuit Tenth Circuit Ninth Circuit Eighth Circuit Seventh Circuit Sixth Circuit Fifth Circuit Eleventh Circuit Fourth Circuit Third Circuit Second Circuit First Circuit First Circuit United States District Court for the U.S. Virgin Islands

US Court of Appeals and District Court map 2.png